How many award shows do we REALLY need?

When I was a kid I remember ONE award show. I got to stay up late and watch all the stars in their beautiful dresses prance around making fools of themselves.

Now there seems to be some kind of award show on every other week. So I have to ask… how many awards do these demi-gods really need?

Actors, actresses, and athletes, get far too much money and attention. Really, they are a dime a dozen. There are new stars to be praised every year. The best newcomer, the blondest blonde, the sexiest man alive, best dancer, best costar, best best boy…you get my drift. I’m sick of it, are you?

I don’t want to see Kim’s ass every time I go online. I don’t want to hear that it’s the greatest movie this year….before it’s even out in the theater. Who makes those claims anyway? It’s too much. Such in such’s new baby, KingStupid. She and he are getting a divorce. Her third, his 15th. The 14 year old singer who is the star of Nashville was so drunk…you fill in the blank.

These people are not good role models. They aren’t the leaders I want my kids to be following. Why do they get all the attention they do? Because WE give it to them.

Just like I long to hear good news on the 10 o’clock news, I long to have decent, law abiding, intelligent people getting recognition. How often do we get to see awards of the soldiers coming home?  I don’t know of any cash awards for people who are heroes, good Samaritans, or scientists that find a new cure for a debilitating disease.

People, stop putting the wrong citizens up on a pedestal. Let’s begin to celebrate those who are worthy of our attention and praise.

About truthseeker1354

Dreamer. Lover of all things creative and clever. Seaching for truth. I was lost and now I'm found.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

