Redefining, again

I mentioned in an earlier post that I had started redefining my life and 60….or that I need to. That is not easy to do.

My children have been harping on me because I am not as busy and “connected” as they think I should be. The deal is, I am as busy and “connected” as I want to be.

OK, I know I should be doing more, but why? I help when I am asked and enjoy doing it when it is not just “busy” work. My feeling is that nowadays, there is a lot of “doing” just because people are used to it.

I belong to a church. There are plenty of opportunities to do nice things for great causes. To name a few, meals for new mothers, and for funerals. Sponsoring cookouts for the less fortunate in our town. Vacation Bible school in the summer for kids and moms. You see. I know that mothers of young children need to get a break from the little ones and enjoy “adult time” with their peers. I was in programs like that until my kids went to school. Then I was a room mother who brought and baked, tutored and did field day. As the kids got older, they were allowed one activity at a time. (I was a single mom with 3 kids, so that was all I had time for.) But, even that qualifying statement shouldn’t need to be said. Kids need time to play, dream, rest and just think! We all do.

But….over the past 20-30 years, it has been more common to be involved in multiple activities. There is a lot of pressure to have your kids in several things during the week. My adult children go to the gym every day. They drag the kids with them, and then come home and bathe them and put them to bed. The kids are 4 and 3 years old. WHY, I scream!!

Back to me redefining. This is not how I was raised, and it was not how I raised my kids. They learned this from their own generation.

So, kids, leave me alone! I was not raised to do exercise everyday, so I hate it. I was not raised to be overly active in social committees or local fundraisers. That’s just me.

So you vote. Do I need redefining? Or do they?

About truthseeker1354

Dreamer. Lover of all things creative and clever. Seaching for truth. I was lost and now I'm found.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

